Artist David Plank Visits the Springfield Art Museum.

Drawing Birds since the early 1940s.

David Plank's bird print at the store.

David Plank’s bird print at the store.

I’m very lucky; I’m surrounded by art at home and at work. I sell prints, oil paintings, etchings, etc. That’s what happens when your store has the word “gallery” in its name. However, it’s not often that I deal directly with an artist.
Years ago, my dad hosted exhibitions for Missouri artists, then, following the exhibits, he would sell the artists’ works. Usually, he sold the artists’ prints from the original artwork. One of the artists he had a show for was David Plank.

David Plank during the gallery talk at the Springfield Art Museum.

David Plank during the gallery talk at the Springfield Art Museum.

David is a watercolorist who has a passion for painting birds in their natural habitat. I had the pleasure to meet him several years ago when I was working with my Dad. I remembered him as a quiet, interesting, tall, thin man. One single print from his collection remains in my print cases.
On March 8, he was the featured artist at a gallery talk at the Springfield Art Museum. So, Theresa and I had a date night! I had a chance to listen to David’s talk and enjoy his watercolors and pencil drawings in the Badgley Gallery section of the Art Museum. Even though it had been thirty + years, he remembered me and my Dad and we had a chance to reminisce about the “good” old days.

Philip and artist David Plank.

Philip and artist David Plank.

His exhibits will continue through July 14.

Springfield Missouri Art Museum, located near the Missouri State University campus.

Springfield Missouri Art Museum, located near the Missouri State University campus.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

